A Linguist’s Notes from the Royal Wedding

About the uniquely English use of the adverb “really”:
“It was one of those enchanting moments, really.”
(Robert Hardman, Royal expert and author)

About the uniquely English use of the adverb “actually”:
“It was a little surreal actually. It was a great, great ceremony.”
(Wing Cdr. Steve Bentley, RAF)

About the uniquely English use of the word “arse,” with reference to the bride’s sister, Pippa Middleton:
“She has a gorgeous arse.”
(Anonymous)

About the use of poetry in voicing a dissenting view about Pippa’s beauty:
“Calm down everyone. She has a nose like a blind cobblers thumb.”
(Anonymous)

11 responses to “A Linguist’s Notes from the Royal Wedding

  1. David Schatzky

    Really, I didn’t find Pippa’s arse the highlight of what was actually a great ceremony, but it really did distract me, so that her blind cobbler’s thumb nose escaped my attention actually.

  2. One might think you’d supply a picture of the arse. I’m left wondering what all the fuss is about.

    • As soon as I have a chance to take a photograph, Ben, which I hope to be soon, I will send it to you.

  3. Michael Gundy

    And no VPL (visible panty line)!

  4. Monica Kinnon

    What a surprise — none of the men noticed the nose. But seriously, with an arse like that I doubt many men would care if she even had a nose! (Hope all is well, Eric, it was nice to see the ‘Koch brothers’ together again at Robert’s birthday.)

  5. Fred Langan

    Graham Green once remarked in an interview in The Spectator: “I abhor adverbs.” No further explanation. It took me years to figure out what he meant. I try to banish words that end in ly from my writing.

    The OED says arse is obsolete in polite usage. But for a picture of that magnificent bottom, try: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/royal-wedding/8484342/Royal-wedding-Pippa-Middleton-shines-as-maid-of-honour.

    As for the nose, I don’t see it.

    • Alas, I tried and failed.
      As to the nose, I agree. But the quote is authentic. I would not have been able to invent it. The man saw something we can’t see.

  6. Curmudgeon

    This may be the desired link:
    http://pippasass.com/