Excerpt from a Conversation with Camille Paglia

Camille PagliaCanada, they have this ideal of the consensus. That’s why when I go up there, people have said to me actually quietly, “Oh, I love having you here, because everyone’s always forcing us to have consensus in Canada.”

I’ve been told that also when I go to Norway. People say, “Oh, we can’t stand it. We are not allowed to have an opinion in Norway. We all have to have a consensus.” Everyone is very civilized in Canada, but it’s impossible to rise above the herd, also. You can’t make any big gestures; you’re thought to be antisocial. I wouldn’t glorify Canada.

The full conversation

3 responses to “Excerpt from a Conversation with Camille Paglia

  1. Elisabeth Ecker

    What is she talking about? The CBC goes out of its way to find an opposing view and I can’t say that everybody agrees with me.

  2. mike holliday

    Camille Paglia exists only as long as people pay attention to her. Others of this ilk include the Kardashians and Paris Hilton.
    I don’t advocate censorship, but sensible organisations and people should not be party to solving her attention-deficit dilemma.

  3. Michael Gundy

    I do not view consensus as restrictive or dumbing down. It allows a civil platform to entertain and debate the controversial. AND if I don’t agree, so what? I still respect you.

    Camille is confusing consensus with the tall poppy syndrome.