Do You Remember This from 1963?

Hello muddah, hello faddah,
Here I am at Camp Granada.
Camp is very entertaining,
And they say we’ll have some fun if it stops raining!

I went hiking with Joe Spivey,
He developed poison ivy.
You remember Lennard Skinard,
He got ptomain poisoning last night after dinner!

All the counselors hate the waiters,
And the lake has alligators!
And the head coach wants no sissies,
So he reads to us from something called Ulysses.

No, I don’t want this should scare ya,
But my bunkmate has malaria!
You remember Jeffrey Hardy,
They’re about to organize a searching party!

Take me home, oh muddah, faddah.
Take me home, I hate Granada.
Don’t leave me out in the forest,
Where I might get eaten by a bear!

Take me home, I promise I will not make noise,
Or mess the house with all my toys.
Oh please don’t make me stay;
I’ve been here one whole day!

Dearest faddah, darling muddah,
How’s my precious little bruddah?
Let me come home if you miss me;
I would even let Aunt Bertha hug and kiss me!

Wait a minute; it stopped hailing.
Guys are swimming, guys are sailing.
Playing baseball, gee that’s better.
Muddah, faddah, kindly disregard this letter!

Writer, performer: Alan Sherman
Melody: Ponchielli, Dance of the Hours
YouTube

7 responses to “Do You Remember This from 1963?

  1. How can one forget it? On the other hand, As with Rossini’s William Tell Overture, it adds some unintended levity to The Dance of the Hours, but it’s worth it.

  2. This was a big hit, even in England, where I still lived at the time.

  3. Who knew?! THIS must be where the hard-rocking Southern band Lynyrd Skynyrd got its name from! Thank you Sketches!

    CanCon: Neil Young is mentioned in the lyrics.

  4. Wrong. Upon further investigation, when I should have been working, I came across the true inspiration for the group’s name: their high school Phys Ed teacher, Leonard Skinner.

    “The teacher’s distaste for the long hair of pupils at Robert E Lee high school in Jacksonville in the 1960s led to many a shaggy-fringed student being sent to the head teacher’s office – among them the founding members of Lynyrd Skynyrd….The group later befriended their former nemesis.”

    Sorry to get y’all excited.

  5. Here it is, in Esperanto. Believe it or not, Google translated the whole thing
    in milliseconds:

    Saluton muddah, saluton faddah,
    Jen mi en Camp Granato.
    Militistaro estas tre amuzita,
    Kaj ili diras ke ni iom amuzu se la pluvo ne ĉesos!

    Mi iris hiking kun Joe Spivey,
    Li evoluigis veneno hedero.
    Vi memoru Lennard Skinard,
    Li iĝis ptomain toksiĝo hieraux post tagmanĝo!

    Ĉiuj konsilistoj malamas la kelneroj,
    Kaj la lago havas aligatoroj!
    Kaj la ĉeftrejnisto volas neniun sissies,
    Do li legas al ni de iu nomita Ulysses.

    Ne, mi ne volas ĉi devus timigi jam,
    Sed mia bunkmate havas malarion!
    Vi memoru Jeffrey Hardy,
    Ili estas ĉirkaŭ organizi serĉado partio!

    Prenu min hejmen, ho muddah, faddah.
    Prenu min hejmen, mi malamas Granato.
    Ne lasas min en la arbaro,
    Kie mi povus akiri manĝita de urso!

    Prenu min hejmen, mi promesas, ke mi ne faru bruon,
    Aŭ salaton la domo kun ĉiuj miaj ludiloj.
    Ho bonvolu ne min resti;
    Mi estis tie unu tuta tago!

    Kara faddah, karulo muddah,
    Kiel fartas mia altvalora iom bruddah?
    Lasu min veni hejmen se vi demandos pri mi;
    Mi lasu onklino Bertha brakumo kaj kisu min!

    Atendu minuton; ĝi haltis aklamanta.
    Infanoj naĝas, uloj veladas.
    Ludi basbalon, Gee tio bona.
    Muddah, faddah, afable ignori tiun leteron!

  6. Unbelievable!!!!!

  7. I don’t recall all those verses in the version that was on the radio frequently. Maybe they were reserved for the LP edition.

Leave a Reply

