Vive La France!

Source: Andy Borowitz in The New Yorker online, May 7

On Sunday, the people of France annoyingly retained their traditional right to claim intellectual superiority over Americans, as millions of French citizens paused to enjoy just how much smarter they were than their allies across the Atlantic.

In bars and cafés across France, voters breathed a sigh of relief in the knowledge that arrogantly comparing themselves to the U.S. population, a longtime favorite pastime of the French people, would remain viable for the foreseeable future….

5 responses to “Vive La France!

  1. Paul Gaffney

    Let’s hope they’re feeling equally superior a month or so from now!

  2. mike holliday

    My stereotypes of France and the French were shattered nearly 50 years ago when, as a relatively poor 20 plus I was travelling from Australia through Europe to Britain. My little camera developed a rattle somewhere near Paris and I took it into a small shop in the capital. The man diagnosed a loose lens and when I returned 30 minutes later handed it back to me. He refused to take any money for the work. I like to think my rudimentary French had shown him that I was not so arrogant that I believed everyone in the world should speak `my lingo.’

  3. curmudgeon

    “Vive La France!” indeed. And, a more important takeaway from this election result, Vive l’Europe!

  4. King Townsend

    Is French hubris worse than Brexit hubris?

  5. The result is of course fantastic – as Le Pen would have been worse than Trump, worse than Brexit (France going fascist would be just horrible and France leaving Europe is a much bigger deal than Britain leaving).
    The big cause for hubris is their election system. The US and UK system favours 2 parties slugging it out in a zero sum contest. The UK has had chances to change the system with proportional representation, but of course the 2 main parties rejected it.